Willkommen auf den Seiten des Auswärtigen Amts

COVID-19: Temporary Restriction on Non-Essential Travel to the EU

18.03.2020 - Artikel

The Heads of State and Government of European Union Member States and associated non-EU Member States have agreed to the recommendation put forward by the Commission that, for the purpose of containing or slowing the spread of the COVID-19 virus, restrictions should be imposed on non-essential travel from third countries into the EU+ area, initially for a period of 30 days.

Yesterday evening, Federal Minister Seehofer issued a corresponding order, with immediate effect, in accordance with article 14 paragraph 6 of the Schengen Borders Code.

The travel restrictions expressly do not apply to the following persons:

  1. Citizens of an EU Member State (including British nationals), or of a country that is part of the Schengen area, who are returning to their place of habitual residence, including their family members;
  2. Third-country nationals returning to their place of habitual residence who hold a long-term residence permit (as well as a national visa);
  3. Third-country nationals who perform so-called “essential functions”, which officially include:
  • health care workers, health researchers, and care professionals;
  • cross-border workers, transport personnel employed for the movement of goods and in other essential sectors;
  • diplomats, staff of international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers insofar as they are performing official duties;
  • passengers in transit;
  • passengers travelling for imperative family reasons;
  • persons in need of international protection or seeking entry for other humanitarian reasons.
nach oben